About JCAM Information

JCAM Marks 25 Years of Jewish Communal Service
With Annual Meeting Breakfast, May 17, 2009

JCAM 1984-2009

CJP President Barry Shrage

Barry Shrage, CJP President, addresses the 25th Annual Meeting & Breakfast of the Jewish Cemetery Association of Massachusetts.

The Jewish Cemetery Association of Massachusetts (JCAM) celebrated its 25th Anniversary at a Meeting & Breakfast on Sunday, May 17, 2009 at Temple Reyim in Newton. It marked a quarter-century milestone of achievement and dedication to Greater Boston’s Jewish community. CJP President Barry Shrage delivered the keynote address and Temple Reyim’s, Rabbi Scott Rosenberg, presented the d’var Torah to the invited guests.

As JCAM looked back over its 25 year history, it recalled with pride not only its progress but also, the challenges it triumphed over in those early years as the Association established itself as the agency of “chevrat k’vod hamet” (guardians of dead). Beginning with 17 Jewish cemeteries (5 of which were abandoned) in 1984, JCAM has grown to own and manage over 100 Jewish cemeteries today in Massachusetts.

In 2006, JCAM launched its Charitable Foundation, dedicated to providing for the maintenance, restoration and continuity of Jewish cemeteries, as well as its responsibility to educate and inform the community through its unique educational programming and restoration projects on the historical significance and impact made by Boston’s early Jewish immigrants and the establishment of Jewish cemeteries and cultural centers in Massachusetts.

JCAM proudly commemorated this special occasion and looks forward carrying on its mission of service to the Jewish community for many years, sharing Jewish Boston’s legacy and reconciling the valuable lessons from the past to shape the needs of our vibrant Jewish community well into the future.

Stan Kaplan, JCAM President, Review the 25-year history of the organization.

Stan Kaplan, JCAM President, reviews the 25-year history of the organization.



Annual Meeting attendees




Annual Meeting attendees